Giving Applause & Thoughts on Blogging


I have no qualms giving credit where it’s due. Right now, I want to give a round of applause to all the writers and/or bloggers that keep a steady flow of content going on their sites. Wherever they may be, whether I follow them or never. Sometimes, it’s remarkable. Other times, perhaps the content covers topics done to death, but hey, they are still “publishing” on a regular basis. And that is a habit I have not yet mastered, and may never master.

Image courtesy of pdclipart.org

Image courtesy of pdclipart.org.

In a sense, I feel as if I took on more than I could realistically handle before developing any kind of routine, which just maybe I should have done. The amount of ideas coming to me have continued at a sprinting pace since I created my sites, while writing them down and posting is just power walking on a treadmill listening to headphones. Sure, I could still try to write some of them, but a handful have lost their relevance. Aside from that, trying to juggle utilizing social media to not only find people who may have interest in my work, but also find individuals or organizations whose work I also find interesting is its own challenge. I mean, the WordPress community itself is another social network, and I have barely branched out into it. Something else I’m working on changing, at least slightly.

What it comes down to is really just taking a breather. Looking at what I’m doing, what I want to do and setting aside the time for very specific actions that need to happen. All in all, I have no regrets in starting my blogs, or even neglecting them to some extent. Because it’s a new experience, I’m still learning, and I still look forward to seeing where putting myself and writing out there, more consistently, leads me.

5 comments

  1. There’s a fine line between enough and too much. I generally can tell how everything is going by using certain key indicators.

    If the writing is going:

    Super shitty = Lots of Facebook posts:

    Marginally shitty = Lots of Facebook comments

    Shitty/Okay Detente = WordPress comments

    Okay = WordPress reblogs and short posts

    More than okay = Long, thoughtful WordPress posts

    Super great gangbusters = no social media of any kind because I am actually writing stuff.

    So today is shitty/okay detente. Earlier it was more than ok. We’ll see what happens when I get home.

    Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts...

