Cupid’s Arrows



Cupid’s arrows
stabbed me in the heart and brain the moment I saw your little runty face
Your eyes were blue and filled with stress
Your appearance was rodent like, even though your lineage is one of predator
I looked at your brothers and sisters
Mewing and clamoring for attentionCupids Arrows
Most of them were claimed, but I didn’t care
Your dark fur historically the shade of superstitions suggested why you hadn’t already been chosen
But you were my ideal
I scooped you up and held you close
Oxytocin must have flowed because it was longer than twenty seconds
We took you home
That was ten years ago
Your eyes turned a yellowish green as you aged
Your size doubled, tripled, then quadrupled
Runt of the litter?
It’s amazing what a little tenderness, love, and care can do
I spoiled you rotten
But I’ve never regretted it once.

What this Daily Prompt inspired.

One comment

Your Thoughts...

