Currently Reading: Ralph Ellison (Invisible Man)


Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

https://lalanier.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/2d508-11008076_848133975251289_1891826880_n.jpg?w=334&h=334

© Image courtesy of L.A. Lanier’s Instagram (@thesquibbler)

I didn’t snag this one on a whim. It was recommended, and over the years I heard good things, but it took me a while to acquire simply because I kept forgetting when on the prowl for new reads and expanding my collection. I decided it would be next because it was more challenging at 580 pages than the other works I’ve read this month. I may have mentioned I’m not the fastest of readers, and because of this I can easily talk myself out of choosing a book to read. Anything beyond 400 pages starts to look intimidating and the “task” of getting through it can be overwhelming, especially if anyone else knows I’m supposedly reading it. And I just don’t trust myself  to be able to tackle the works within “reasonable” amounts of time. But the only way to help improve my reading speed is to keep reading and keep taking on those that take longer to digest, at least on the surface. So far, I’m a little more than halfway through, and pleased with the pace I’ve been going, almost to the point of proud. But that won’t happen until I can check it off as read. Invisible Man hasn’t disappointed either. The writing is far more engaging than I was expecting based on the synopsis and so well executed. Some paragraphs sing almost poetically while others push you to read more, and it makes me pause to reflect and consider things about myself and those around me. And really it’s just been the kind of book I need to read at this moment in my life. So if you were one of few that encouraged me to pick it up. Thank you.

7 comments

    1. Hello my friend,
      Well…I was being a bit naughty there. It is utterly brilliant don’t get me wrong; a novel that has taught me more about writing and what is possible with writing than any other. Unlike other ‘seminal works’, it’s also hilarious and fun to read; but it is a ginormous, dense work – people spend years reading it. If I may take the liberty, I have written about it some detail in a post on my blog called “Must Writer’s Read.” I do hope you read it (the book I mean, not my post…unless you want to of course…which I’d like too), so it’s a real recommendation, but it doesn’t fit the bill of the shorter works you mentioned in your post. All the best and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts...

