An Experience and Tea “Recipe” with Coffee-Mate’s Natural Bliss


Time for Tea
I’m a creature of habit and routine, like most people, but every once in awhile I feel experimental. This usually expresses itself in the form of cooking or mixing drink-ables.
I’m a tea-drinker over coffee (mainly after developing a sensitivity to caffeine, such a grave injustice for a writer). But as such is life, I consume an array of whites to blacks and sleepy herbal to energized breakfasts.

Over the years, I’ve kept things simple: water and sugar. Until my first family Christmas trip to Canada when I experienced having a cuppa the more “traditional” way, with milk. Even if unsweetened, I enjoyed this new taste bud tickler. I figured if milk could be added to coffee and tea, creamers could as well. A part of my palate missed the flavor blending I easily managed with coffee. So, after being a fan of International Delight’s creamers, for nearly five years, I purchased Nestle’s Coffee-Mate Natural Bliss (vanilla). You could say their calming advertising of steamy and creamy beverages got the better of my curiosity. The simple ingredients angle also didn’t hurt.

Natural Bliss Tea Recipe

The first cup.

Now I don’t usually “endorse” products on my site, but after the first sip of this concoction I felt inclined to share with others.

Vanilla Natural Bliss Green Tea

  • 1 tea bag* of your favorite unflavored green tea (mine was Touch Organic’s Organic Green Tea)
  • 6-8 oz Hot water
  • 1 oz room temperature or chilled water (optional to aid in cooling or offsetting sweetness)
  • 1-1 1/2 teaspoon of honey
  • 3 teaspoons of Vanilla Natural Bliss

Preparation: I prepare my tea by using a basic electric kettle in standard 6-8 oz coffee or tea cups (see photo). Once the water’s ready, I pour over my tea bag almost kissing the rim. If I know I’ll be adding quite a bit of milk or cream I leave more space to account for fluid displacement. If you’ve self served after thinking a waitress/waiter or barista didn’t give you enough, you learn this lesson quickly.
Anywho, I dunk my tea bag a number of times (varies by mood) and then leave it to steep anywhere from 3 to 5 minutes. Today’s “recipe” was 3:46 (Yes, I set timers. Yes, it’s a little OCD ritualistic).
After my time’s up, I take out the bag give it a gentle press and toss. I get my teaspoon (cutlery set not measuring) and squeeze out a full helping of the honey, with and extra oomph and drizzle it into the tea.Stir it up until it dissolves and no residue remains on the spoon. Then grab the Natural Bliss from the fridge and give it a shake. I pour out the one (drop in), two (drop in), three (drop in) teaspoons then stir that all up and Voila! The cream being chilled helps make the tea sippable almost immediately**.

This is more of a guideline than a by the number recipe so play around with the measurements to find what balances creates your deliciously blissful cup.

Product Details: It lists non-fat milk, heavy cream, sugar and natural flavor (this is supposedly the vanilla) as ingredients, sticking true to the keeping it simple and “natural.” And with the dairy products once opened the product is considered best consumed within 14 days. Not much of a problem for me since I’ll keep using a bit after.

Nutrition Details: 1 tablespoon is 35 calories (1.5g fat) and has 5g sugar. This isn’t bad when considering about 3 teaspoons is a tablespoon. Granulated white sugar is approximately 45 calories 12g sugar per tablespoon, and typical liquid honey is 60 calories and 17g sugar per tablespoon. (I haven’t used raw sugar in a while, and don’t use any other sweeteners, but may look this up and update the post to include that information for those who might be interested.)
After I finish off this bottle I’ll consider trying some of their other flavors and see what kind of flavor fun I can have. If you end up trying this out for yourself please let me know in a comment!

Few Disclaimers: * I’m a frequent user of bagged tea instead of loose leafed *gasp*, so can’t guarantee taste if you try loose leaf blends.

**My standard electric kettle does not have adjustable temperature settings and I take my time when preparing. So, if the water used is from a stove kettle or fancier electric kettle your water temperature may be hotter. Please use caution and discretion when drinking your teas 🙂

Again this is just a guideline and I encourage you, if you’re willing to try it, to find your own taste balance. If it just wasn’t to your liking, and you feel the need to express that, please do so politely.

Your Thoughts...

